Home > Uncategorized > GWT Development mode with hot deployed Glassfish in eclipse

GWT Development mode with hot deployed Glassfish in eclipse

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. S
    May 12, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Thanks for the description, it was exactly what I was looking for! Only problem is, it doesn’t work-:) I get stuck with HTTP status 404, The requested resource () is not available.

    I’ve carefully gone through each step in your description. is there anything that isn’t in there?

    • May 12, 2011 at 2:48 pm

      Hello Sara
      I experienced that you may have to compile the gwt project once to get it going.
      Right-click your project. Google -> GWT Compile.

      Hope that helps
      Mats

    • May 16, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      I tried it myself again with the latest “Oracle Enterprise Pack for Eclipse” and Glassfish 3.1.
      It worked straight on without the gwt compile step I was talking about.

      You have to be careful entering the URL starting the gwt development mode in step 6. Maybe that was the problem.
      The URL to be used pops up in the eclipse internal browser when the glassfish is started in step 5. (the window with the ignored message that gwt need to be recompiled)
      Copy-paste the URL from there into the gwt development mode config in step 6 and it should work.

      Mats

  2. S
    May 16, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Got it working! Thanks!

  3. gjpanam
    August 3, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    To debug GWT cleint code in an external server, see below

    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2629297/is-it-possible-to-debug-gwt-client-code-on-a-remote-server-using-intellij-9-commu

    -noserver -war “[full path to your exploded war]” -gen “[full path to generated files]” -logLevel INFO -port [remote server port] -startupUrl “[URL of the remote page]” [com.company.YourEntryPoint]

  4. August 15, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    thanks so much – for the details – it was a big help to me!

  5. Endrigo Rivas
    December 12, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Thanks. This information was very usefull for me.

  6. fred
    December 27, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Works great, thanks very much, just what I was looking for..

  7. Zigmar
    January 27, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    Hi!
    Thanks for the great guide! Works excellent. 🙂
    Another questing – I can’t find a way to compile and bundle web app archive, that I can take and deploy on an external glassfish server. Can you please, point out, where should I look for it?

    • January 27, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      I use ant for that – Just because I haven’t put the effort in moving to maven yet..

      http://ant.apache.org

      build.xml:

        <target name="war" depends="build,log4j-properties" description="Create a war file" >
          <zip destfile="${war_file}" basedir="WebContent"/>
        </target>
      
      • Zigmar
        January 31, 2012 at 1:17 pm

        Thanks a lot!

  8. ferbolg
    January 27, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    Hi! Thanks for the article, it’s great. Then only thing that disturbs me is that, after I have done all the steps, I have my project marked with “!” in yellow triangle and the same thing for any folder which includes xml files . And I can’t figure out what’s happening. I am using Eclipse Indigo.

    Am I missing something ?

    • January 27, 2012 at 11:03 pm

      In the “Problems” tab you have the warning explained. Check it up in a eclipse forum. I don’t get it in helios. Post back if you think the explanation would be helpful for indigo users!

  9. Rod
    May 7, 2012 at 12:46 am

    Hi,
    First I thank you for your great article. It is very helpful. I just tried the steps with a tomcat6 server in eclipse. Unfortunately I always get a “ClassNotFoundException” for the class “com.google.gwt.client.user.RemoteService”

    Do you have an idea, what may be the causes? I already checked the libraries, and they are there (added via apache ivy)

    Thank you for the answer.

  10. May 9, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    Awesome.. working like a charm.. thanks a bunch!!

  11. Rod
    May 9, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    Hi
    I solved my problem. The solution was to add the dependencies in the “deployment assembly” (Right click -> properties -> Deployment assembly) setting of the corresponding project.

    cheers

  12. May 20, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    First thank you it really helped me .. the project is running but my modification never effect even after compilation … and even i have an error indicating that web.xml format is wrong .. here is the error

    ” Description Resource Path Location Type
    The content of element type “web-app” must match “(icon?,display-name?,description?,distributable?,context-param*,filter*,filter-mapping*,listener*,servlet*,servlet-mapping*,session-config?,mime-mapping*,welcome-file-list?,error-page*,taglib*,resource-env-ref*,resource-ref*,security-constraint*,login-config?,security-role*,env-entry*,ejb-ref*,ejb-local-ref*)”. web.xml /iLiveAgent/WebContent/WEB-INF line 6 XML Problem

    waiting 4 reply …

  13. dudeperson
    July 16, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Hi, just wanted to say I followed the instructions and it worked flawlessly. Thanks a lot!
    (I’m using Eclipse 3.7 and Glassfish 3.1.2)

  14. September 17, 2012 at 9:07 am

    That’s so great of u. This is an idea that I plan to do for some other solutions I have found too. 😉 Sharing knowledge! ^^

  15. Tom Verbeek
    November 1, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Thanks for taking the time to document this. That really helped! I am using Eclipse 3.7 and Glassfish 3.1.2

  16. Lev
    February 24, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    Thank you so much for this post!!! I read many many articles online to see how I could still debug server and client in a GWT project, but with Glassfish on the backend instead of Jetty. Your steps worked perfectly!!

    One note: My glassfish was starting up in Java 1.6 runtime, but the GWT project was compiled under Java 1.7, so initially I couldn’t get the RPC response working. This is probably a very rare version mismatch for people, but if you encounter it, see if you get a messages like this in your GF logs:
    [#|2013-02-24T12:37:31.038-0600|WARNING|oracle-glassfish3.1.2|javax.enterprise.system.container.web.com.sun.enterprise.web|_ThreadID=22;_ThreadName=Thread-3;|StandardWrapperValve[greetServlet]: PWC1382: Allocate exception for servlet greetServlet
    java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: WEB9032: Class com.gwttest.server.GreetingServiceImpl has unsupported major or minor version numbers, which are greater than those found in the Java Runtime Environment version 1.6.0_41
    at org.glassfish.web.loader.WebappClassLoader.findClass(WebappClassLoader.java:950)
    at org.glassfish.web.loader.WebappClassLoader.loadClass(WebappClassLoader.java:1476)

    If you do, you just need to make sure that GF and the project are both running off of the same Java runtime.

    Thanks again!!

  17. Bo E
    June 10, 2013 at 7:02 am

    Any chance you could refresh the image links? They are all dead. The article is thourough and seems to work for a lot of people. But a tad hard to follow without the screen shots… Thanks,

  18. Nina
    November 5, 2013 at 8:55 am

    Hello,
    as of November 5-th 2013, none of the screenshots are available. Please, would you correct the problem?

  19. Nina
    November 5, 2013 at 9:59 am

    Sorry for the noise. Konqueror didn’t show the iframe.

    • November 5, 2013 at 10:35 am

      Interesting, is anyone still using Konqueror? Must have been 5+ years since I had it installed it myself.

  1. March 22, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Leave a Reply

